WELA began in spirit in the late 1980’s as an informal network of plaintiff employment lawyers. In 1994, WELA began to develop formal programs including its Amicus Curiae Committee and education programs. In 1996, WELA was incorporated as a Washington non-profit corporation, and has been growing ever since.

WELA’s Board of Directors consists of the four elected officers (Chair, Vice-Chair, Secretary and Treasurer), the Immediate Past President and five appointed members. The appointed members serve as chairs of the Amicus, CLE, Programs, Membership Committees, Legislative, and Communications Committees as follows:

Chair > Kathy Barnard
Vice Chair > Beth Terrell
Secretary > Larry Kuznetz 
Treasurer >Sean Phelan

Committee Chairs: 
Amicus Committee > Jeffrey L. Needle
CLE Committee > Teri Healy and Terry Venneberg
Programs and Social Events Committee > Beth Terrell and Teri Healy
Membership Committee > Beth Terrell
Legislative > Jesse Wing, Jeffrey L. Needle
Communications Committee > Daniel F. Johnson

Fee Petition Committee > Vicky Vreeland and Steve Festor 
Immediate Past Chair > Vicky Vreeland

To see our bylaws concerning officers, click here.

Search Last Name
Search Specialty
Search Location
Membership in WELA is available to any Washington attorney whose employment-related legal representation is at least 75% on behalf of employees. Student members must merely certify that they subscribe to the purpose of promoting the rights of employees.